We need to talk about this week’s Game of Thrones. 

If you haven’t watched the fifth episode of season 6, then look away for the night is dark and full of spoilers. 

It took me months to get over the disaster that was the Red Wedding, and every time a direwolf dies a piece of my soul dies too. So why does Martin and the producers of this bloody programme continue to stamp all over our emotions?! 

The death toll in this series is surprisingly steady, and I think it’s the first time we’ve seen the number go up only to come back down by one with the resurrection of the now ex-Lord Commander, Jon Snow. Last week’s episode ended with Daenerys standing as Khaleesi once more and, let’s be honest, she was one boss ass bitch. 

So why with the triumph that came with the end of last week’s episode, does this week’s pull at our heart strings? In fact, it pulls our heart out and stamps on it. 

I will say that I was on the edge of my seat for the end of this episode, and I think we all thought Bran was a total twat. I mean, come on, what a dick move. So when Meera went outside and the White Walkers were waiting for them, it was definitely apparent that all was about to kick off. As much as I felt bad for the Children of the Forest being totally wiped out, it was a definite Frankenstein moment when they’re savaged by their own creation. 

But that wasn’t even the sad bit.

We all have to put our hands up for Summer, Bran’s direwolf. I’m sure there was a universal cry when Summer dived into the undead to try and save Meera, Hodor, and Bran (who, just to remind you, is a twat). We’re another wolf down and the White Walkers are now confirmed as sworn enemies to all animal lovers. We can only hope that Ghost makes it to the end of the season – hopefully Jon has taken the fall with his “death”, so Ghost is safe for now… 

By this point, I’m already an emotional wreck. And then it happens. The tragic death of a hero named Hodor – who’s actual name is Wylis. Watching this moment, and the continual cries of “Hold the door!” gradually merging into “Hodor”, the tears just keep coming and there’s no stopping them. I’m a blubbering mess on the floor of my living room as my heart is torn in two. 

So, after this traumatic experience, what do I decide to do? I watch it again. With my dad. The cycle repeats and I’m a complete mess, while my dad is sat next to me with the world’s greatest poker face. I like to think that deep down he was as torn up as I am, but the looks he gave me that screamed “what on earth did I create?” said otherwise. 

We’re all well aware of how much of a troll George R.R. Martin is. But it still doesn’t stop the pain whenever he easily kills of a character that we’ve invested so much time and effort in. All I can say is, beware of next week’s episode – I dread to think who’s next on his list.

Unless it’s Ramsay Bolton. I think it’s impossible to say who’s the biggest prick out of him and Joffrey…

Leave a comment