Painting the Town Red: Fluffy shoes and jägerbombs make quite the combination.

So I said I’d post at the weekend because I was going out. I was seriously hungover on Sunday, and the whole bottle of rosé I had before going out didn’t help. Neither did my Sunday afternoon shift at work.

But I won’t lie, I had a great night and I felt great about how I looked too!

Also, you wouldn’t think that The Greatest Showman soundtrack would be a great selection of songs to get you pumped during pre drinks. But if you did think that then you would be wrong. Belting out “Million Dreams” in the car on the way into town was a highlight of my night. So big up Hugh Jackman for boosting my drunken morale.

Outfit

Let’s talk about my outfit choice.

I bought this dress from Boohoo back in April, just after Easter. I won’t lie, I had such a mare getting it because I ordered this dress and another and Hermes went and lost my order so I had to order it again.

This was the first time I’ve worn it since I bought it and I’ve got to say that I love it. I don’t tend to stray away from an all black wardrobe, with hints of red, and obviously this dress is very far away from the darkness that shrouds my clothes. But when I put this dress on I fell in love with it.

A quick warning though, don’t wear dark pants or a dark bra underneath because the fabric is so light and fairly thin and people will see those black undies you’re adorning.

Being a self professed chubby girl who has more than her fair share of curves, I get quite self conscious about my shoulders because sometimes I think they make me look bigger, and my not-so-little bingo wings don’t help me with these worries.

But I love wearing bardot/off the shoulder dresses and tops, because I find that they can conceal your arms (which are my biggest insecurity) and also define your shoulders a bit more – especially for someone like me who doesn’t really have any shoulders as they just slope downwards which makes holding a bag a nightmare. They bring make your frame seem narrower (if that’s what you’re after), and frankly they look classy and just damn fabulous.

So big thanks to Boohoo for your super inclusive and fabulous plus size range. I’ve been a big fan of Boohoo for a long time and I will always recommend any of their ranges to anyone, no matter what the size. I think the majority of my wardrobe comes from Boohoo, as I sometimes struggle to find my size (or an item that’s realistically my size) in mainstream clothing stores. But they go up to a size 24, and often their sizes are actually really generous, especially in their dresses. And it’s a bonus that they constantly have different delivery offers on throughout each day so I don’t think I have ever paid full price for delivery from Boohoo!

Now let’s talk about the shoes.

I got these shoes from Primark back in the winter when the fluffy heels craze was at its height. They cost me something like £8-£10, I cant exactly remember, and I am in love with them.

I’m so shit at walking in heels, especially high ones, and especially thin heels. I prefer a chunky heel, preferably low ones. My problem is that I want to drop it like a bankruptcy in the stock markets, and wearing higher heels means that I find myself wanting to spend 60% of my night finding somewhere to sit, and the other 40% hopping from one foot to the other, complaining that my feet hurt.

These heels are bigger than kitten heels (which everyone hates because they’re kitten heels and who likes kitten heels?), but they’re not a hundred inches high. Because they’ve still got some height on them, they still give you a bit of definition in your legs and elongate them. This is a big must for a short arse like me who’s got quite stumpy little legs, so these heels were a big win win for me.

I mean, let’s take a look at this picture:

My legs look like they may have actually made it to a gym for once (they haven’t).

I can quite easily make it through a whole night in these shoes and not complain about my feet once, all while shaking it like Beyoncé to my favourite dancehall tracks, five jägerbombs in. Of course I bought them in black, because it means that they go with near enough everything.

So basically if you’re not into high heels but you still want a shoe that can make you look classy and like you’ve done at least one “leg day” in your life, then these are the kind of shoes for you.

And don’t be afraid to check out Primark’s shoe collection. While they do have some weird concoctions in there, they do have some really nice little treasures for a good price!

Moving onto the makeup:

Because I was wearing a classy outfit, I wanted to go for a classy makeup look to match. I wasn’t wearing black, so I decided to go for some more muted colours so that my outfit would be the standout colour for once, rather than my eyeshadow.

Because I’ve been on a cut crease hype this past week or so, I wanted to continue this and have a go at a more traditional cut crease kind of look.

The main palettes I used were the Morphe 35O (£18), and the Urban Decay Heavy Metals palette (£27).

I used the Morphe palette for the browns at the top of my eyelid, beginning with a very light brown, and gradually blending in darker shades towards the crease. I then used the Makeup Revolution Foundation Stick (£5) in shade F1 to paint my eyelid and cut the crease because I’ve still not gotten around to buying a new concealer yet.

However, the foundation stick does work really well as an alternative to the concealer if you don’t have any. I find it’s quite tacky/wet and on my skin it doesn’t really work very well as I have some major oily patches which the foundation doesn’t sit well on. But for small patches on the eyes, it seems to have found a purpose and place in my makeup collection.

I’ve stated before that I have to cut the crease quite high above my actual crease, and it’s easily seen in this look. Again, I do this because I have quite hooded eyes and if I don’t then the whole illusion is all hidden in the middle or it becomes all mashed up where my eyelid rubs against itself. This isn’t the case for everyone, but if you want the defined look that’s noticeable and you have hooded eyes like me, then this is how I’d recommend doing it.

After cutting the crease, I used two gold shades from the UD palette; Glory, which was used on the middle of my eyelid, and Twisted, a darker gold that I blended towards the other corner of my eye. It’s not super obvious here as I did blend them together a bit much, but there is two shades of gold on there.

At the inner corner I just used the lightest white, shimmer shade in my favourite unbranded eyeshadow palette just to finish it off and act as a highlight. I used a cheap glitter liner I got whilst in China, just to add a bit of sparkle, along the crease line. This is also great to hide any mistakes you’ve made when painting on the concealer or putting the eyeshadow on your lid – like if you didn’t get the line as defined as you’d have liked, or you got some eyeshadow on the top of your eyelid and you can’t wipe it off.

After all of this, I finished it off with the NYX Matte Black liquid eyeliner (£6) and the W7 Lashtastic mascara (£2.50) from B&M. I really need to get some lashes as soon as I actually get a day off – I only have one this week because I gave up one to help a colleague because I’m so nice and I’m tired ha.

Here’s the look in it’s entirety:

You can see here where I’ve cut the crease very high, but also how hooded my eyelids can be. Luckily I’m blessed with a fair bit of space above my eyelids also.

On my lips I’m wearing the Barry M Matte Me Up Lipkit (£6) in “Bespoke.” I love this lipstick. Any of the Barry M lipsticks I am a fan of. Their staying power is truly immense, but they’re not drying on your lips and they don’t crack. The lip liner is spot on, and even without it the lipsticks don’t bleed or even budge. 10/10 Barry M.

For highlight, I’m using the peachy shade in the Sleek Solstice Palette (£9.99). I could probably dedicate a whole post to how much I love this palette. I actually bought it on sale last year for about £7, as I know it’s quite pricey for a small palette. However, it’s worth it.

You get the three powder highlighter shades (a pale pink, a peach – my regular -, and a gold shade), and a pink cream highlighter. I’ll admit I haven’t really used the cream as I wear a lot of matte makeup and powder due to oily skin, so cream highlighters can rub off my foundation. But the powders are second to none and they literally shine like an angel.

This picture truly shows how real the glow is from this palette:

Literally it’s like molten gold on my face and I am living for it. Serving you some blinding realness.

That’s all from me today, so my message to you for now is;

  1. Check out Boohoo because their products are second to none, cheap, and wicked quality – plus delivery offers!
  2. Get yourself some small chunky heels to offer the allusion that your legs do make it to the gym.
  3. Invest in a Sleek Solstice palette because it is so worth it, and you will literally blind the makeup gods more than the sun.

It’s almost midweek, the countdown to the weekend is on already.

Peace out! Xo

Leave a comment